Amanda Reads: Small Admissions

Happy Tuesday, bookternet! This week’s book is Small Admissions by Amy Poeppel, which is billed as a book for fans of Sophie Kinsella and The Nanny Diaries.

(Full disclosure: I received an egalley of this book via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review).

small-admissionsBecause of the Sophie Kinsella comparison, I expected the love story to take more of center stage in this book than it did. Instead of boy meets girl, this book is much more about the main character, Kate, trying to put herself back together and find herself after a devastating breakup that leaves her in a deep depression. Of course (spoiler alert) we later learn that there was a bit more to her breakdown than the breakup alone.

This book was interesting because it was told from so many different perspectives, flipping between Kate, Kate’s sister, and Kate’s friends so that there are many different plotlines happening at once. It sort of reminded me of the book version of those intricately woven romantic comedies like He’s Just Not That Into You and Valentine’s Day. Since I’ve  got a soft spot for those movies, I liked this quality.

The multiple perspectives also lent a bit of mystery to the story as it unfolds. We get the sense that each character is hiding some details about what exactly happened between Kate and Robert, and the plot thickens as each character heaps on more secrets. This really helped keep me invested.

Ultimately I was a bit unsatisfied by the love story, but probably because as a rom-com loving girl I wanted a bit more sparkle and shine to it. All in all, though, I enjoyed this book and recommend it to anyone who needs a light, heartwarming read with a little more under the surface to uncover.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s