Amanda Reads: As You Wish

Well hello there, internet people. I know it’s been a while since I’ve posted anything, but the truth of the matter is that I’m in the middle of that most horrible of horrible things–a reading slump. It makes me want to cry a thousand tears, but every time I pick anything up lately I just immediately want to be reading something else. I don’t know what that something else is, but I’m definitely open to suggestions if you’ve got them.

However, just before the worst of my reading slump hit, I finished Cary Elwes’ (aka Wesley) memoir about the making of The Princess Bride. If you don’t know what The Princess Bride is, then you should probably drop whatever you’re doing, abandon my blog (I need to stop telling people to do this, don’t I?) and go watch the movie. Upon doing this, buy a copy of the book. Read the book. Realize they are both magical and beautiful and probably about as close to perfect as a thing can be.

Having done that, I permit you to carry on with reading this post.

As You WishInconceivable Tales from the Making of The Princess Bride was a very interesting, occasionally funny read. The narrative voice is perfect, with just the right amount of Wesley references to keep a reader happy without diverging into sap and nostalgia (not that anyone minds a little nostalgia where The Princess Bride is concerned, am I right?). If you don’t know this already, the iconic movie almost didn’t happen–like, multiple times almost didn’t happen. Doesn’t that scare you? It scares the heck out of me!

But anyway, it did eventually come to pass, and this book does a nice job of telling the history of the twists and turns behind getting support for the making of the movie, as well as the tale of how the film was actually made. If you enjoy behind the scenes trivia, this is definitely a book for you. Be warned, though: this book comes with a serious side effect of wanting to somehow simultaneously read it and William Goldman’s The Princess Bride and watch the movie all at the same time, which is, sadly, deeply impossible.

I hear that there is an audio version of this memoir floating around, which I regret not getting my hands on (-shakes fist at library, in a loving way-), and I feel like that would be even more magical. All in all, I definitely, definitely recommend that any lovers of The Princess Bride give this book a go.

Leave a Reply

