Amanda Reads: Poser (My Life in 23 Poses)

Hello, internet people! I know it’s been a while since I’ve posted a book blog, but that’s because I’ve been INCREDIBLY busy juggling my jobs (I know that sounds like an excuse, and it is… but it’s a good one, right?). Anyway, I finished this audiobook a while back and I’m just now setting down my thoughts about it. Here we go…

Late last year, I read the memoir Yoga Bitch and it quite literally changed my life. I connected with the narrator in a deep, personal way, and the book inspired me to give myself a little tough love and make some much-needed changes in my life. Because of this, I became very interested in the yoga sub-genre of memoir, which led me to pick up Poser.

Much of my disappointment with the book was not the fault of the author. The memoir was, in many ways, interesting and well written. But it could not have been further from connecting with me on that deep, personal level I was after. The author is a middle aged women struggling with the challenges of raising children under strict societal scrutiny, while balancing finances and her romantic relationship. As a 22-year-old, single, childless woman with no plans of starting a family or a romantic relationship, I struggled to find the relevance of the book to my life. That is not to say that such connection is the only purpose in memoir, but that was what I was seeking when I listened to Poser, and I did not find it.

The book describes a true yoga beginner finding solace in her practice as she tries to bring everything else into balance. The descriptions of the poses, probably useful to someone unfamiliar with yoga, got a little tiresome for me because I already know what child’s pose and downward dog and most any other common yoga pose looks like. The connections between the poses and the memoir content of each chapter were interesting, but occasionally seemed a bit strained. At times, I found the narrator’s tone a bit alienating, but for the most part the style strikes a nice balance between literature and conversation that I appreciated.

All in all, I’d say that this book is better suited to someone who is more interested in familial problems and child-rearing, whether or not he or she is familiar with yoga itself.

Leave a Reply

