A Word on Equality

It’s hard not to think about it with little red equal signs popping up all over Facebook, so it’s not very surprising that I’ve got marriage equality on the brain today. I know that I have made my feelings abundantly clear before, but I feel it is very important for everyone to keep reminding one another that as human beings we deserve no less than equal rights. This holds especially true in a country that was founded on “life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness.” I don’t know about you, but being able to marry the person you love, whoever that person is, sounds a lot like pursuing happiness to me.

Love is a beautiful, mysterious, wonderful thing and I just can’t see how anyone would want to deny those who have found it the right to express it by getting married if they so choose. Other people’s marriages are not going to destroy the sanctity of your own, regardless of what genders are involved, so why put your energy into trying to prevent them. Regardless of your personal beliefs, why deny someone the right to their own happiness?

So this is just to say, I support marriage equality, today and every day, and I look forward to the day when that’s not a question anymore.

Leave a Reply

