Summer: Work, Hobbies, and a LOT of Yoga

Well, internet people, it’s been a while. Something about a daily life that mostly involves working in retail and watching a lot of TV has made me feel somewhat uninspired to blog recently, especially after my European tour. But this summer, I’m trying not to waste every bit of time I’m given, being out of school and crashing in my parents’ house as 20 year old college girls will do.

What am I up to, you ask? Aside from watching a concerning amount of 30 Rock, I mean. Well, I’ve decided to work on improving my devotion to certain hobbies of mine. For one, as a Creative Writing and Literature major, I think I should spend more of my summer reading and less of it vegging in front of the TV and playing Sims (although there has definitely been some Sims and TV. How can I resist?) I’ve also decided to learn to knit. It’s kind of a disaster right now, seeing as how my yarn is in a giant jumbled knot upstairs, but I remain determined. I’ve also returned to my yoga practice, which helps keep me a little less angry in my daily life. On top of all of this, I’ve been doing a lot more cooking and baking. Between the yoga and baking, I’m at an all time low for stress and anger. I’ve hardly even gotten annoyed with my customers and I’ve been back at work for two weeks. Although, there was the insistent woman who demanded we mark down jewelry because it had obviously been missed during markdowns. I missed the part where she had worked there for two years and I hadn’t. But that aside, things have actually been pretty mellow thus far this summer.

What’s the point of all this? Only that I know it’s been a while since I’ve updated and I felt obligated to post something about what’s been eating up all of my time and sapping my strength for ranting and raving about things, as I’m so fond of doing. This summer is about me–getting healthy, investing in my hobbies, and finally losing that 10 pounds I gained over my freshmen year of college and the subsequent summer. I hope this post finds you all well and that I have something more interesting to bring you in the near future.

Leave a Reply

