NaNoWriMo–My Personal Challenge

As you may know, and certainly should know, November is, aside from being No Shave November, also National Novel Writing Month. As you also may know, aside from merely being a college student, I am a Creative Writing major. Can you predict where this is going?

Last year, for the first time I participated in NaNoWriMo, and I DID IT! It was grueling and most of the writing came in just in the wee hours, but I felt such a great sense of accomplishment that it was exhilarating.

For those of you who don’t know, NaNoWriMo consists of a glorious month of writing in which you try to write a novel, or 50,000 words of one at least. For some of us that may be a novel but I tend to bite of more than I can chew when it comes to stories.

BUT! This year I’m doing something a little bit different. Instead of starting off with a fresh novel and writing until I drop, which was glorious fun last year, I confess, I’m going to force myself to drill through a novel idea I’ve had since the sixth grade.

I figure, what better way to inspire myself to write than to challenge myself to write 50,000 words in a month? Silema and Stephon are going to take their journey out of my head and onto the page at last… and I’m going to blog about every bit of the experience. Maybe you’ll find this fascinating. Maybe you won’t. Regardless, you can (hopefully) expect to hear plenty of me when I’m procrastinating taking my characters through what has become over the years a very complicated universe.

Leave a Reply

