Facebook, StumbleUpon, and Other Glorious Forms of Procrastination

Oh, the internet. A glorious, information superhighway… and a place where you can mindlessly waste the hours that probably ought to have been devoted to studying for that Spanish final. I don’t know how it was done pre-internet, but procrastination has never been easier now that we have apparently endless forms of mindless entertainment at our fingertips.

I have seen Facebook addiction. It’s kind of scary. Two minutes into studying, the laptop is opened, the Facebook page checked… and then checked again. I mean, it’s pretty obvious why it’s so much more important than our grades–it’s social. Why study Espanol when you can water plants on a virtual farm or post on someone’s wall? I think I speak for most of us when I say Facebook is a college student’s procrastination paradise. But the beauty (and horror) of the internet is the wealth of options!

Sure you opened Mozilla–or Chrome, or if you’re living in the past, Internet Explorer–to check your school email to make sure that term paper deadline hadn’t been miraculously moved back, but somehow you forgot that once the gleaming web address bar was at your disposal. Suddenly, you type the URL I discovered halfway through my Freshmen year: http://www.stumbleupon.com.

Even more fantastic for procrastinating, this site takes your interests into consideration and with one click you can end up looking at just about anything. Videos, games, a plethora of adorable pictures of cats… whatever your heart desires. A few clicks, a few pages… and four hours later, you realize it’s 1AM and you haven’t started your paper.

I’m sure there are other internet procrastination destinations that I’m unaware of. I mean, I haven’t even mentioned YouTube, and that’s certainly no small contender. The moral of the story, so to speak, is that time management is everything in a college student’s life. Often, I found myself choosing between studying, the internet, and sleep, and I’m sure I’m not the only one.

Leave a Reply

